Capstone Leadership Academy Brings Talented High School Students to UA Campus

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – A select group of top students from Alabama high schools have been invited to attend the Capstone Leadership Academy April 2-3 at The University of Alabama.

The group of some 100 students will be addressed by guest speakers and participate in discussions that focus around the academy’s theme of values, vision and voice.

This page contains video that requires JavaScript and a recent version of Adobe’s Flash Player. Download the latest Adobe Flash Player now to view this content.

The students are first nominated by administrators from each of the participating high schools. The nominees were asked to submit their resumes, transcripts and an essay for evaluation by Capstone Council, which then selected the student attendees.

Capstone Council is a volunteer organization comprised of former campus leaders from the 1970s. They include former Capstone Men and Women and SGA officers, all of whom organized the event under the leadership of the late Jean O’Connor-Snyder, the Capstone Men and Women sponsor throughout the 1970s.

The council has established an endowed scholarship in O’Connor-Snyder’s memory, intended for an attendee of this year’s Leadership Academy.

Presenters for this year’s event will include UA Women’s Basketball Coach Wendell Hudson as keynote speaker; Dale Wallace and Lew Burdette, Capstone Council members; and Amy George, former news anchor and founder of the Melissa George Foundation. Several UA students will also speak throughout the event and mentor the high school students.

The following students were invited to participate in this year’s Academy:

County Last name First name Hometown High School
Autauga Averhart Everett Prattville Marbury High School
Autauga Golson Matthew Prattville Autauga Academy
Autauga Walker Charlotte Prattville Marbury High School
Baldwin Harrison Isabelle Fairhope Bayside Academy
Barbour Sanders Cody Eufaula The Lakeside School
Bibb Meigs Jacob Centreville Bibb County High School
Blount Sims Travis Oneonta Oneonta High School
Butler James Sarah Greenville Fort Dale Academy
Calhoun Vernon Dorothy Anniston Faith Christian School
Calhoun White Jarquechia Jacksonville Jacksonville High School
Calhoun Wilson Elizabeth Jacksonville Jacksonville High School
Cherokee Henderson Amber Ft. Payne Sand Rock School
Cherokee Murphy Luke Gaylesville Gaylesville High School
Chilton Caton Krisi Clanton Thorsby High School
Chilton Hand Emily Jemison Jemison High School
Chilton Higgins Alissa Thorsby Isabella High School
Clarke Newton Michael Thomasville Thomasville High School
Clay Riley Curtis Ashland Clay County High School
Colbert Machtolff Anne Sheffield Sheffield High School
Coosa Thomas Yolandez Sylacauga Central High Coosa County
Covington Spears Zoza Andalusia Andalusia High School
Crenshaw Warrick Ryan Brantley Brantley High School
Cullman Harris Katie Crane Hill Cold Springs High School
Cullman Maxfield Hanna Bremen Cold Springs High School
Dallas Flennory Franchestia Marion Junction Keith High School
Dekalb Black Mary Ider Ider High School
Dekalb Graham Anna Rainsville Plainview High School
Dekalb Noles Sara Fort Payne Plainview High School
Dekalb Thompson Takisha Collinsville Fyffe High School
Elmore Middlebrooks Charles Eclectic Elmore County High School
Escambia Darby Hannah Brewton T.R. Miller High School
Escambia Gehman Kristen Atmore Escambia County High School
Escambia Templeton Kelsey Brewton T.R. Miller High School
Etowah Lawley Jesse Rainbow City Westbrook Christian School
Etowah Richards John Gadsden Gadsden City High School
Etowah Trudeau Noah Gadsden Gaston High School
Fayette Dunavant Madelyn Bankston Hubbertville School
Franklin Malone Bret Russellville Russellville High School
Henry Crawford Chelsea Abbeville Abbeville High School
Jefferson Cotton Mary Birmingham Briarwood Christian School
Jefferson Freeman Laura Vestavia Hills Vestavia Hills High School
Jefferson Langley Caroline Vestavia Hills Vestavia Hills High School
Jefferson McBrayer Hannah Hoover Hoover High School
Jefferson Moore Patrick Hoover John Carroll Catholic High School
Jefferson Nix Carolyne Mountain Brook Mountain Brook High School
Jefferson Peggins Raven Lipscomb McAdory High School
Jefferson Robinson Myles Vestavia Hills Vestavia Hills High School
Jefferson Smith Lelia Mountain Brook Mountain Brook High School
Jefferson Waldron Austen Trussville Trussville High School
Jefferson Wilder William Mountain Brook Mountain Brook High School
Lamar Mordecai Austin Kennedy Lamar County High School
Lauderdale Brock Elizabeth Florence Shoals Christian School
Lauderdale Collum Jordan Florence Mars Hill Bible School
Lauderdale Grossheim Hayleigh Killen Mars Hill Bible School
Lauderdale Hammond Samantha Lexington Lexington High School
Lauderdale Landis Brandon Florence Shoals Christian School
Lauderdale Wallace Jacob Anderson Lexington High School
Lawrence Gaddy Mackenzie Town Creek Lawrence High School
Lawrence Williams Jacy Moulton Lawrence High School
Lee Johnson Justin Opelika Beauregard High School
Lee Taylor Rachel   Beulah High School
Limestone Moore Luke Athens Clements High School
Madison Burcham Anna Madison Bob Jones High School
Madison Crumbley Anna Madison Bob Jones High School
Madison Gossett Seth Hunstville Westminster Christian Academy
Madison Gover Jeanna Gurley Madison County High School
Madison Harris Patrick Huntsville Huntsville High School
Madison Sutton Amelia Huntsville Huntsville High School
Madison Torabinejad Shirin Hunstville Buckhorn High School
Madison White Brady Huntsville Madison County High School
Madison Wilson Matthew Huntsville Grissom High School
Marengo Russell Colin Demopolis Demopolis High School
Marengo Tucker Mary Demopolis Demopolis High School
Marion Babb Jordan Hamilton Hamilton High School
Marshall Baker Alexander Guntersville Guntersville High School
Marshall Jackson Jessica Albertville Douglas High School
Marshall Woodard Sara Guntersville Guntersville High School
Mobile Bourque Brandon Mobile Alabama School of Mathematics and Science
Mobile Brown Catherine Mobile St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Mobile Byrd Graham Mobile St. Paul’s Episcopal School
Mobile Fellrath Kaitlin Mobile McGill-Toolen Catholic High School
Mobile Jones Paquilla Pritchard Davidson High School
Mobile Kizer Brett Mobile Baker High School
Mobile Mosley Katie Mobile Baker High School
Mobile Ogendi Audrey Mobile Alabama School of Mathematics and Science
Mobile Sanders Haley Mobile Cottage Hill Christian Academy
Mobile Sayers David Mobile Davidson High School
Montgomery Hall Meredith Wetumpka Alabama Christian Academy
Montgomery Powell Logan Montgomery Trinity Presbyterian School
Morgan Quinn Charles Decatur Decatur Heritage Christian Academy
Pike Kitchens Samantha Troy Charles Henderson High School
Randolph Arrington Daphne Roanoke Handley High School
Shelby Bentley John Birmingham Briarwood Christian School
Shelby Cocke Connor Hoover Spain Park High School
Shelby McMillan Abby Pelham Pelham High School
Shelby Senicz Savannah Harpersville Vincent High School
St. Clair Curtis Jada Ashville Ashville High School
Tallapoosa Chaffin Chase Dadeville Reeltown High School
Tallapoosa Gunn LaPrentice Alexander City Benjamin Russell High School
Tuscaloosa Porter Brantley Cottondale Holt High School
Walker Scruggs Carey Jasper Walker High School
Winston Bloom Jessica Double Springs Winston County High School
Winston Bryant Amy Arley Meek High School
Winston Myrick Alex Haleyville Winston County High School
Winston Parker Kaitlin Addison Addison High School


Dana Lewis or Linda Hill, UA Media Relations, 205/348-8325,


Nancy R. Siniard, Capstone Council, 256/534-6383,
Claire O’Rear,