A person holding a mobile phone while driving.

Put Down the Phone While Driving

Beginning this month, you can receive a citation for holding a cell phone while driving in Alabama.

Alabama’s Hands-Free Law took effect in June 2023 to combat distracted driving. However, law enforcement officers were not allowed to issue citations until now, to give drivers time to adjust.

The law prohibits drivers from holding and using a cell phone while operating a vehicle in ways that could be distracting, such as:

  • Using more than one button or swipe to initiate a call
  • Holding the phone while talking
  • Sending or receiving text messages
  • Watching videos on YouTube or other streaming services
  • Creating or sharing a video to platforms such as TikTok or Instagram

If you receive a citation, the first fine is $50 and one point on your Alabama driver’s license. However, receiving a second citation within two years will result in a fine of $100 and two points on your license. Drivers who receive 12 or more points may have their Alabama driver’s license suspended.

Safety Reminder: UA Alert System Test

Weather permitting, the University will test its emergency notification systems, including UA Alerts, the public address system and digital signage Wednesday, June 5, at 11:55 a.m.