Faculty Research Day Highlights Excellence in Research and Creativity

Faculty members’ outstanding achievements in research and creativity will be celebrated at the annual Faculty Research Day April 22. The event will take place at the Bryant Conference Center starting at 4:45 p.m.

Sponsored by the offices of the president and the vice president for research and economic development, Faculty Research Day serves as a platform to acknowledge and commend the remarkable contributions made by faculty members in advancing knowledge and innovation across various disciplines.

Nominations for the prestigious President’s Faculty Research Award are solicited from faculty, departments and colleges, aiming to identify outstanding individuals in three distinct career stages: emerging, mid-career, and senior scholar. Each award category will honor a faculty member excelling in the areas of:

  • Arts and humanities
  • Physical and biological sciences, mathematics, and engineering
  • Social and behavioral sciences

“This event underscores The University of Alabama’s unwavering commitment to fostering a culture of scholarly excellence and innovation, supporting impactful research that addresses pressing societal challenges and drives progress in various fields,” said Dr. Bryan W. Boudouris, UA vice president for research and economic development. “This year’s award winners are shining examples of research excellence across our vibrant research ecosystem, and they highlight how our comprehensive research-intensive university makes a direct, positive impact on our students, institution and society.”

The 2024 President’s Faculty Research Award Recipients

Emerging Scholars

Shalini Ray, law

Shameka Cody, nursing

Mid-Career Scholars

Nathan Loewen, religious studies

Marcos Santander, physics/astronomy

Sara McDaniel, special education and multiple abilities

Senior Scholars

Emily Wittman, English

Samit Roy, aerospace engineering and mechanics

A. Lynn Snow, psychology