The front exterior of the School of Law building

UA Begins Search for New Law Dean

The University of Alabama School of Law has opened the search for its next dean.

UA is seeking a strategic and collaborative leader with a distinguished scholarly profile to serve as the next dean of the School of Law. The dean will develop a vision for the school and provide leadership in matters related to planning, curriculum, research and scholarship, and the law school’s budget. The dean will also engage with faculty, students, alumni, the legal community, and state and federal government officials to advance the goals of the School of Law and University.

Anita Kay Head, assistant dean for students and associate professor of legal writing with the School of Law, is serving as chair of the search committee. Head is joined by committee members elected from the college including:

  • Montré Carodine, professor of law
  • Jenny Carroll, Wiggins, Childs, Quinn, and Pantazis Professor of Law
  • Courtney Cross, assistant professor of clinical legal instruction
  • Heather Elliott, Alumni, Class of ’36 Professor of Law
  • Benjamin McMichael, associate professor of law

Committee members appointed by UA President Stuart R. Bell include:

  • Joe Espy III, trustee emeritus
  • Michael House, president, Oak Grove Strategies, LLC
  • Grace Soyon Lee, associate dean for academic affairs, School of Law
  • Evelyn VanSant Mauldin, trustee
  • G. Christine Taylor, vice president and associate provost, Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

The School of Law provides a top-rate education that results in enviable bar passage and employment rates, all within a supportive and diverse environment. The college’s low student-to-faculty ratio paired with robust curricular offerings draws students to study under faculty who are skilled teachers as well as leading researchers and scholars.

U.S. News and World Report ranks the School of Law No. 9 among public universities.

A full description of the position and information on how to apply is available online.