photograph of closeup white tulips with University Boulevard and the President's Mansion in the background

Faculty Accolades for March 2022

Endowed Chair

Dr. Robin Boylorn has been named the inaugural Holle Endowed Chair in Communication Arts in the College of Communication and Information Sciences. In this role, she will lead the development of a new scholarly center for the college, recruit the affiliation of distinguished national and international scholars, secure external funding, and cultivate interdisciplinary communication performance and activities for The Holle Center for Communication Arts.

Elections and Fellowships

Dr. Tim Mewes, professor, department of physics and astronomy, has received a Jefferson Science Fellowship. The JSF program is administered by the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine and supported by the U.S. Department of State and the U.S. Agency for International Development. According to the program website: “The JSF program is open to tenured, or similarly ranked, faculty from U.S. institutions of higher learning who are U.S. citizens. After successfully obtaining a security clearance, selected Jefferson Science Fellows spend one year on assignment at the U.S. Department of State or USAID serving as advisers on issues of foreign policy or international development. Assignments are tailored to the needs of the hosting office, while taking into account the Fellows’ interests and areas of expertise.”

Dr. Samit Roy, William D. Jordan Professor of Aerospace Engineering and Mechanics, was elected chairman of the Emerging Composites Technology Division of the American Society for Composites.


Yonathan A. Arbel, associate professor, Law School, coauthored “Contracts in the Age of Smart Readers,” 90 George Washington Law Review 83-146 (2022).

Jennifer Feltman and Iliana Kasarska on scaffolding in front of the cathedral's Last Judgment portal

Dr. Jennifer M. Feltman, assistant professor, art and art history, published “The Afflicted Body of Job and the Aesthetic of Wholeness in Gothic Sculpture,” in “The Routledge Companion to Art and Disability,”edited by Keri W. Watson and Timothy Hiles (Routledge, 2022). Feltman is also part of an international group of art scholars helping restore the fire-damaged Notre Dame Cathedral in Paris.

Visiting Professorships

Dr. Guy Caldwell, University Distinguished Research Professor, department of biological sciences, was invited to Wichita State University as a Watkins Visiting Professor. This is an endowed series where leaders in a discipline spend several days on campus meeting with faculty and students, and deliver two lectures: one technical lecture, and one for the public. Among past Watkins Professorships are several Nobel laureates, author and paleontologist Stephen J. Gould and primatologist Jane Goodall.

Dr. Regina Range, associate professor of German and German engineering liaison, is representing The University of Alabama and its department of modern languages and classics department as a Distinguished Visiting Professor at California State University, Long Beach. During her one-semester residency, Range is sharing her work on early 20th-century screenwriting, German cinema, and 19th- and 20th-century German literature and philosophy. Range is consulting resource institutions central to her research on German-speaking exiles in Hollywood.