faculty research day, celebrating excellence

President’s Faculty Research Award Recipients for 2021 Honored

A graphic with text that reads "Faculty Research Day."Members of The University of Alabama faculty were honored for their research and creative contributions as part of Faculty Research Day.

Faculty Research Day highlights and celebrates excellence in research, creativity and scholarship by honoring faculty from across campus. It is also intended to increase awareness and generate enthusiasm for scholarship among faculty as the University advances its research enterprise and its impact.

Sponsored by UA’s president and the Office for Research and Economic Development, the awards go to outstanding faculty researchers from across the University’s colleges and schools.

“Our faculty are drivers of innovation in their fields and serve as guides to our students’ success,” said Dr. Russell J. Mumper, UA vice president for research and economic development. “We are thrilled to recognize their achievements and express our gratitude for their contributions.”

The 2021 Faculty Research Day Awards Ceremony was canceled to meet public health and safety protocol. Virtual poster presentations and scholarly information for the nine faculty members receiving this year’s President’s Faculty Research Award are available on UA’s website, and each will be recognized at the 2022 Faculty Research Day event, along with the winners from the canceled 2020 event.

The recipients come from each of three areas: arts and humanities; physical and biological sciences, mathematics and engineering; and social and behavioral sciences. In each group, nominations are solicited for a senior, mid-career and emerging scholar to be honored.

Faculty Research Day also recognizes recent inductees into the National Academy of Inventors. This year’s inductee is Dr. Xiangrong Shen, professor of mechanical engineering.

More about each recipient can be found in the online program.

The 2021 President’s Faculty Research Award Recipients

Emerging Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Richard Newton – religious studies

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Kevin M. Kocot – biological sciences

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Mercy N. Mumba – nursing

Mid-Career Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Lawrence M. Jackson – theatre and dance

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Paul G. Allison – mechanical engineering

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Nicole Ruggiano – social work

Senior Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Heather Cass White – English

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Fei Hu – electrical and computer engineering

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Rajesh Kana – psychology


Adam Jones, UA communications, 205-348-4328, adam.jones@ua.edu