President’s Faculty Research Award Recipients Recognized

  • May 19th, 2020

A graphic with text that reads "Faculty Research Day."The University of Alabama is honoring faculty members for their research and creative contributions.

The 2020 Faculty Research Day Awards Ceremony was canceled after the University transitioned to limited business operations. Virtual poster presentations and scholarly information for the nine faculty members receiving this year’s President’s Faculty Research Award are available on UA’s website, and each will be recognized at the 2021 Faculty Research Day event.

“Each honoree deserves recognition for their creative and scholarly contributions,” said Dr. Russell J. Mumper, UA vice president for research and economic development. “They are representative of the vital work our faculty undertake to innovate and expand knowledge and enhance the educational experience of our students.”

Faculty Research Day highlights and celebrates excellence in research, creativity and scholarship by honoring faculty from across campus. It is also intended to increase awareness and generate enthusiasm for scholarship among faculty as the University advances its research enterprise and its impact.

Sponsored by the offices of the President and Vice President for Research and Economic Development, the awards go to outstanding faculty researchers from across UA’s colleges and schools.

The recipients come from each of three areas: arts and humanities; physical and biological sciences, mathematics and engineering; and social and behavioral sciences. In each group, nominations are solicited for a senior, mid-career and emerging scholar to be honored.

Faculty Research Day also recognizes recent inductees into the National Academy of Inventors. This year’s inductee is Dr. Jialai Wang, professor of civil, construction and environmental engineering.

To read more about each recipient, visit

The 2020 President’s Faculty Research Award recipients are:

Emerging Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Kelly Shannon-Henderson – modern languages and classics

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Alexander Hainen – civil, construction and environmental engineering

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Sonya E. Pritzker – anthropology

Mid-Career Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Andrew Raffo Dewar – interdisciplinary arts, New College and School of Music

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Laura Reed – biological sciences

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Peter Harms – management

Senior Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Seth Panitch – theatre and dance

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Steven Jones – civil, construction and environmental engineering

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Susan White – psychology

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.