UA School of Social Work Accepts Nominations for Buford Peace Award

UA School of Social Work Accepts Nominations for Buford Peace Award

Dr. Ellen Spears, associate professor of American history at UA, won the 2016 Buford Peace Award.

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — Nominations for the annual Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award can now be submitted online.

The University of Alabama School of Social Work’s Lahoma Adams Buford Peace Award recognizes faculty members who are both professionally and personally active in causes that promote peace and justice. The award, established by UA Social Work alumnus Tony D. Walker, is given annually to a faculty member who has demonstrated in their teaching, research, professional practice and personal life exceptional levels of involvement in mediating human disputes, helping overcome prejudice, promoting justice and establishing peace.

UA students, faculty and staff can nominate a faculty member for the award through Friday, April 7. Previously nominated candidates also may be nominated again. Highest priority will be given to faculty members from the School of Social Work, but faculty members in any division of UA are eligible provided they meet the selection criteria. Nominations can be made here.

Recipients of the Buford Peace Award receive a $1,000 taxable cash prize and are recognized at the school’s annual Academic Awards ceremony. The 2017 Buford Peace Award Induction Ceremony will be held at 4:30 p.m., May 8 at the Cypress Inn Pavilion in Tuscaloosa.

Learn more about the Buford Peace Award and past recipients at


Liz Dykes, director of events, UA School of Social Work, 205/348-5384,