UA Selects Incoming Freshmen for University Fellows Experience

  • June 28th, 2016

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — The University Fellows Experience, housed in the Honors College at The University of Alabama, has selected 34 freshmen for the incoming Class of 2020.

The Honors College selected these members from a pool of more than 660. The selected members represent 17 states.

The University Fellows Experience is a vibrant community of highly talented undergraduates. Following the classical purpose of education — the production of good citizens — this program strives to prepare the most able and dedicated students at UA for leadership and service to their community, state, nation and world.

Mentored by top professors and supported by their peers, University Fellows receive the richest of college educations that will create enduring personal cultures of learning and will help them embrace service to others.

For more information, go to

The selected students are:

Harrison Adams, of Selma.

Emily Adams, of Corpus Christi, Texas.

Reese Butler, of Paducah, Kentucky.

Mary Elizabeth Clements, of Chattanooga, Tennessee.

Molly Collimore, of New Boston, New Hampshire.

Allie Coogler, of Tuscaloosa.

Marc Dickenson, of San Ramon, California.

Sydney Gabrielson, of Knoxville, Tennessee.

Olivia Gevedon, of Maineville, Ohio.

Rebecca Griesbach, of Tuscaloosa.

Emily Hooker, of Birmingham.

Garrison Hughes, of Richmond, Kentucky.

Joseph Jensen, of Clemson, South Carolina.

Mackenzie Johnson, of Tuscaloosa.

Jeffrey Jones, of Mountain Brook.

Ally Krenos, of Las Vegas, Nevada.

Mary Kate Larson, of Westlake Village, California.

Ben Leonard, of Collierville, Tennessee.

Ruben Martinez, of Miami, Florida.

Bailey McIntosh, of Cumming, Tennessee.

Ryan McMichael, of Honolulu, Hawaii.

Charlotte McRae, of Birmingham.

Kay Middleton, of Bridgewater, Massachusetts.

Jenna Minser, of Apex, North Carolina.

Meredith Moore, of Montgomery.

Shana Oshinskie, of Highland Park, New Jersey.

Jonathan Reese, of Loveland, Ohio.

Josiah Sowell, of Gurley.

Addison Stewart, of Vestavia Hills.

Sarah Beth Strickland, of Nolensville, Tennessee.

Andrew Sudol, of Edmonds, Washington.

Trey Sullivan, of Shelby.

Joule Tazbir, of Crown Point, Indiana.

Mary Tate Thomas, of Mountain Brook.

Jim Weiss, of Downers Grove, Illinois.


Stephanie Brewer, coordinator, University Fellows Experience, 205/348-5558,


Richard LeComte, media relations,, 205/348-3782

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.