High School Students Named Winners in UA Physics Contest

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – Talented high school students from across the Southeast were recently on campus to compete in the 33rd annual University of Alabama High School Physics Contest.

In the event, students compete for top honors through a series of tests and written exams.

The top two finishers in the written exam who choose to attend UA will receive four-year, in-state tuition scholarships. Students who do well in the competition are invited to apply to the E. Scott Barr Scholarship program which awards generous scholarships to students majoring in physics.

In addition to the student competition, the event includes programs for teachers, an open house on research in physics, a physics show and informal opportunities to experience campus life at UA.

The following are the top three award recipients and the rest of the top 10 medalists:

090112_physics_contest_011 090112_physics_contest_009 (no photo) (no photo) (no photo)
1st place– David Grzybowski of Randolph High School
2nd place — Hassan R. Liaghati of Grissom High School
3rd place — Kevin Shen of the Darlington School in Rome, Ga.
4th — Spencer C. Carroll of Darlington
5th — Patrick Wingo of Randolph High School
(no photo) (no photo) (no photo) 090112_physics_contest_003
(no photo)
6th — Jimmy Nakamura of Homewood High School
7th — Ziyang Chen of Darlington
8th — Patrick J. Straub of Randolph High School
9th — Sean T. Clemmer of Mississippi School for Math and Science in Columbus, Miss.
10th — James Suthon of Homewood High School

The following are the team awards (by school category):

Large Public:


1st place — Grissom A – Sherwin Chui, Megan Covington, Kasey Hill, Robert Liaghati
2nd place — Homewood A – Jimmy Nakamura, Aaron Barrett, James Suthan, Rylan Delap
3rd place — Homewood B – Luke Norton, Darl Schiesz, Ben McLeod, Time Simpson

Small Public:

1st place — Ranburne B – Matt Faunce, Cody Kelly, Emily Robertson, Tucker North

2nd place — Ranburne A – Clint Gosdin, Leigh Pollard, Bryan Herren, Lucas Weysner (not pictured)

3rd place — Ranburne C – Amanda Edwards, Randi Mahan, Elizabeth Echols, Chelsea Northan


1st place — Darlington A – Spencer Carroll, Beau Kanskulthorn, Kevin Shen, Ziyang Chen

2nd place — Randolph A – Thomas Bierbower, Jonathan Fisher, David Grzybowski, Patrick Wingo

3rd place — Randolph B – Clark Della Silva, Sumeet Dang, Steven Hwang, Sanket Shah


1st place — MSMS A -Sean Clemmer, Manoj Maddali, Asanka Nanayakkara, and Haoran (Jack) Li

School Awards:

1st place — Ranburne
2nd place — Grissom
3rd place — Darlington

E. Scott Barr Award for outstanding high school physics teacher:
Jason Cole of Ranburne High School


Chloe LeBaron or Linda Hill, UA Media Relations, 205/348-8325, lhill@ur.ua.edu


Dr. William Keel, professor of physics and astronomy and UA Leadership Board Faculty Fellow, 205/348-1641, wkeel@bama.ua.edu