Florence Area Residents Among UA Graduates

  • May 9th, 2005

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The University of Alabama awarded some 2,400 degrees at joint May-August commencement ceremonies held May 6-7 in Bryant-Denny Stadium.

Sela Ward, award winning actress and UA alumna, was the featured speaker. Ward, best-known for her television roles as Lily Sammler on “Once and Again” and Teddy Reed on “Sisters,” is a 1977 graduate of the UA College of Communication and Information Sciences.

Bryan Stevenson, executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative in Montgomery, gave the commencement address for the UA Law School.

With this graduating class, UA has awarded more than 193,000 degrees since its founding in 1831 as the state’s first public university.

The following students from the Florence area were listed as candidates to receive degrees:


FLORENCE-Benjamin Roy Graves, Carol Key Hargett, Joshua Allen Sutherland

TUSCUMBIA-Amy Michelle Taylor


ATHENS-Kristin Nicole Brock, Jessica Fae Crosby, Gina Denise Demuro, Eric D. Olson, Jennifer Leigh Whitt,

FLORENCE-Kevin A. Abston, Jennifer Annette Cook, Leigh Abbie Hammond, Jonathan Randall Little, Kimberly Michelle Thompson

LEIGHTON-Angelia Looney Campbell

MOULTON-Clay Weston Coffey, Elizabeth Alaine Williams

RUSSELLVILLE-Brian Ashley Pounders

TOWN CREEK-Sedrick D. Johnson

TUSCUMBIA-Tiffany Chantel Davis, Melody Lisanna Shearin

VINA-Patricia Ann Swinney


ATHENS-Thomas Bradley Clem, Tamara Harris, Melessa D. Hood, Alison N. Long, Joshua M. McDonough, Laura Kei Simmons, Thomas Lloyd Turpin, Samantha Nicole Van Kirk, Janet Leigh Waggoner

CHEROKEE-Steven Derrick Crocker

ELKMONT-Alissa Colleen Johnson

FLORENCE-Jeffery Tyler Abston, Leann Brooks Burgess, Thomas Ryley Darby, Whitney Elaine Dyar, Tyler Glenn Holden, Justin Trent Holt, Benjamin Daniel Killen, Laura Elizabeth Mitchell, William Key Norvell, Jordan Karl Pounders, Preston Linden Reeder Jr., Laura Leigh Taylor, Jordan Elizabeth Tippett, Joshua Ty West

KILLEN-Katherine S. Gamble, Haley Brook Rutledge, Jason Paul Spires

LEIGHTON-Justin Clay Aday

LEXINGTON-Jonathan Bradley Hill, Steven D. Kemp, Michael Jason Reed

MOULTON-Kendall R. Cooper, Jason Alan Couch, Freda Joyce Rojem

MUSCLE SHOALS-Cory Thomas King

ROGERSVILLE-Jennifer Lynn Burt, Deanna Lynn Thomas


TOWN CREEK-Courtney Lane Tate

TUSCUMBIA-Thomas Murray Crosslin, Leigh A. Gilchrist, Meredith J. Gilchrist, Amanda Jo Thompson, L. Kathryn Wilbanks


Linda Hill, UA Media Relations, 205/348-8325, lhill@ur.ua.edu

The University of Alabama, part of The University of Alabama System, is the state’s flagship university. UA shapes a better world through its teaching, research and service. With a global reputation for excellence, UA provides an inclusive, forward-thinking environment and nearly 200 degree programs on a beautiful, student-centered campus. A leader in cutting-edge research, UA advances discovery, creative inquiry and knowledge through more than 30 research centers. As the state’s largest higher education institution, UA drives economic growth in Alabama and beyond.