UA National Alumni Association Announces Awards

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — The University of Alabama National Alumni Association (NAA) recently named the recipients for the 2000 Distinguished Alumni Awards and 2000 Alumni Student Awards.

Recipients will be recognized at the annual Alumni Weekend Luncheon on Saturday, April 15, at noon in the Bryant Conference Center.

The NAA acknowledges and honors an alumna and alumnus of UA for their contributions to the University and the NAA. Selection for the Distinguished Alumni Awards is based on loyalty and service to the University and the NAA; character and personal life; professional achievement or success in chosen endeavor; and community service on local and/or state or national level.

The 2000 Distinguished Alumna Award winner is Josephine Camp Davis of Tuscaloosa, and the 2000 Distinguished Alumnus Award winner is Winton M. “Red” Blount of Montgomery.

The NAA also recognizes and honors students in the senior class. The students have excelled in academics and extracurricular activities, shown strength of character and maturity and displayed exceptional hospitality toward guests and friends of the University.

The recipients of the 2000 Alumni Student Awards are Chere LeBerte of Trussville (zip code 35173) and Richard Brandon Stacey of Birmingham (zip code 35210).

The 2000 Alumni Outstanding Senior Award winners are Nicole E. Chakov of Gautier, Miss.; Gretchyn Gay of Smithfield, Va.; Dominique Glinzler of Tuscaloosa; Elizabeth Johnston of Benton, La.; Heather Key of Tuscaloosa; Chad Bryan of Brantley; Scott Levy of Tupelo, Miss.; Stephen L. Miles of Bessemer (zip code 35023); and Clemens A. Reimer of Tuscaloosa.

For more information, please contact Booker Lynne Glance at 205/348-1553.


Carin Charles or Linda Hill, Office of Media Relations, 205/348-8325