Legend Makers, Award Winners Celebrated at Campus Assembly

Giving a distance learning student the motivation and support to complete their degree after a death in the family.

Supervising a whopping 60 student research projects in 5 years.

Giving a parent hope that their child will one day talk through speech therapy.

Saving a person’s life.

These few stories only scratch the surface of the collective impact made by faculty and staff honored with University awards during the 2023 Fall Campus Assembly.

Applause filled The North Zone of Bryant-Denny Stadium Wednesday afternoon, Sept. 13, as faculty and staff gathered to honor their colleagues at this annual campus tradition.

Watch: Recap of Fall Campus Assembly

In his state-of-the-University address, UA President Stuart R. Bell commended the honorees and the entire faculty and staff for fueling the Capstone’s success.

“We all come together to make a great University even greater,” he said. “And when it comes all down to it, it is our people that make The University of Alabama great.”

Fall Campus Assembly 2023 Award Honorees

Outstanding Commitment to Teaching Awards

Bestowed annually by the National Alumni Association, these awards recognize faculty members’ commitment to teaching and the impact they have had on students.

Dr. Ana Corbalán with Dr. Bell
Dr. Ana Corbalán, professor, department of modern languages and classics
Dr. Yolanda M. Manora, associate professor, department of English; senior fellow, Blount Scholars Program; affiliate faculty, African American Studies and Women’s Studies
Dr. Lucy Kaufman and Dr. Bell
Dr. Lucy Kaufman, assistant professor, department of history
Dr. Jonathan Wingo and Dr. Bell
Dr. Jonathan Wingo, professor and department head, department of kinesiology

Outstanding Commitment to Advising Awards

Drawing hundreds of nominations from students and faculty members across campus, these awards are given by the UA Academic Advising Association to one professional academic advisor and one faculty advisor each year.

Anne Margaret Vincent,
Anne Margaret Vincent, distance learning academic advisor, Culverhouse College of Business
Dr. Lawrence Cappello and Dr. Bell
Dr. Lawrence Cappello, assistant professor, department of history

Sam S. May Commitment to Service Award

The Sam S. May Commitment to Service Award recognizes departments, teams or centers that provide exceptional service through commitment, innovation, creativity and continuous improvement in customer relations.

the graduate school admission team with Dr. Bell
Graduate School Admissions Team
Th Center for Service and Leadership Team with Dr. Bell
Center for Service and Leadership Team
The Speech and Hearing Center Team with Dr. Bell
Speech and Hearing Center Team
The OSHER Lifelong Learning Institute Team with Dr. Bell
Osher Lifelong Learning Institute Team
The Building and Maintenance Renovation Team with D. Bell
Building and Maintenance Renovation Team

Virgil Parks McKinley, Sr. Employee Award

This award recognizes enterprising employees, who by action or idea, contribute to UA’s mission of teaching, research and service.

Officer Albert Canzoneri with Dr. Bell
Officer Albert Canzoneri, University of Alabama Police Department
Jennifer Crumpton with Dr. Bell
Jennifer Crumpton, director of donor relations, advancement services
Caroline Barge with Dr. Bell
Caroline Barge, student records specialist, registrar’s office, School of Law

Event Highlights