Students Ta’Kyla Bates, Caroline Karrh, Ainsley Platt and Lyric Wisdom at the media convention

Hot Off the Press: Students, Publications Rack Up National Honors

Several UA students and publications, including Alice, The Crimson White, Nineteen Fifty-Six and the Corolla, brought home awards from MediaFest22 hosted by the College Media Association and Associated College Press Oct. 27-30 in Washington, D.C.

The Crimson White won multiple awards at the conference that included Pinnacle Awards from the College Media Association and Pacemakers from the Associated College Press. Awards include:

Pinnacle Awards

  • The CW: Honorable Mention, Four-Year Best College Media Outlet of the Year
  • The CW: Second Place, Four-Year Less-Than-Weekly Newspaper of the Year
  • CW Editorial Board: Second Place, Best Editorial
  • David Gray: Second Place, Best Portrait


  • CW Editorial Board: Honorable Mention, 2022 Story of the Year, Editorial
  • Ashlee Woods: Fourth Place, 2022 Story of the Year, Sports Game Story
  • David Gray: Honorable Mention, 2022 Photo of the Year, Environmental Portrait
  • David Gray: Honorable Mention, 2022 Photo of the Year, Sports Feature Photo

In addition to awards, The CW was inducted into the ACP’s Pacemaker 100. Pacemaker 100 publications are the 100 college publications with the most Pacemakers and Pacemaker finalists since the ACP’s founding in 1922.

Ta’Kyla Bates and Jeffrey Kelly with Alice magazine won a Pacemaker Honorable Mention in the 2022 Story of the Year Feature Story category.

Nineteen Fifty-Six magazine won several awards, including:

Pinnacle Award

  • Honorable Mention, Four-Year Feature Magazine of the Year


  • 2022 Magazine Pacemaker Finalist Award in recognition of general excellence and outstanding achievement in a national competition for collegiate media.
  • Ashton Jah, Tyler Hogan and Tionna Taite, Honorable Mention, 2022 Design of the Year, Magazine Cover

The Corolla, UA’s retired yearbook, was also inducted into the ACP’s Pacemaker 100.

In addition, Paul Wright, former director of UA Student Media who retired in 2019, was named a member of ACP’s inaugural class of Pioneer Award winners. Pioneers are distinguished journalism educators and advocates who have provided exceptional leadership for collegiate media programs and made exceptional contributions to collegiate journalism and to the association in its service.


Bryant Welbourne, UA Strategic Communications,