New Capstone Men and Women Ready to Shine

  • May 24th, 2022

Forty-five students representing 30 majors from across campus have been selected for the new class of the renowned Capstone Men and Women.

Member of the 2022-2023 class of Capstone Men and Women wearing their signature suits in front of Denny Chimes
The 2022-2023 class of Capstone Men and Women. 

Capstone Men and Women serve as official ambassadors of The University of Alabama. The organization has played a major role in the University since 1962. Originally named the Crimson Girls, the group accepted its first male members in 1976 and changed its name to the Crimson Girls and Capstone Men. In 1991, the name of the group was changed to Capstone Men and Women.

Capstone Men and Women ensure an extra measure of hospitality at The University of Alabama, making visitors feel they have experienced a truly exceptional place. They provide a warm reception for guests and help them gain a better understanding of all aspects of the University. Capstone Men and Women assist the University president’s office, admissions and alumni during functions held on campus and in other locations, as well as host daily tours of the campus for prospective students and other visitors. Last year, they led more than 3,600 daily campus tours for prospective students and other visitors.

Officers for the 2022-2023 academic year are Preston McGee, president; Ibby Dickson, vice president of operations; and Mya Nobles, vice president of administration.

Interested in trying out for next year’s class? Visit the Capstone Men and Women website for more information.

Listed below are members of this year’s class.

Name Hometown
Wyatt Awtrey Dallas, Texas
Ryan Barranco Montgomery, Alabama
Garland Brazil Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Max Brown Daphne, Alabama
Walker Burley Ozark, Alabama
Anna Kate Cavanar Prattville, Alabama
Betsy Chambers Athens, Georgia
Thomas Cochran Birmingham, Alabama
Kelsey Curry Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Mary Caton Davidson Madison, Alabama
Ibby Dickson Sylacauga, Alabama
Luke Dille Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Jacob Donoian Fairhope, Alabama
David DuCote Pleasant Hill, Alabama
Alex Dunn-Cordova Bellevue, Washington
Sam Guerrero Prattville, Alabama
Raven Hartsfield Hoover, Alabama
Luke Harvey Alexander City, Alabama
Kate-Conley Hughes Columbia, Missouri
Abby Johnson Hampton Cove, Alabama
Sims Johnson Atlanta, Georgia
Tori Johnston Madison, Mississippi
Kenneth Kelly McDonough, Georgia
Jeppa Kilgore Hoover, Alabama
Preston McGee Plantersville, Alabama
Cole Mozingo Montgomery, Alabama
Mya Nobles Mobile, Alabama
Ally-Anna Outlaw Ozark, Alabama
JC Perry Huntsville, Alabama
Jackson Quarles Madison, Alabama
Aliee Reed Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Amara Rivera San Diego, California
Kathryn Scoggins Madison, Mississippi
Charlyse Skipwith Birmingham, Alabama
Sarah Kate Smalley Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Jack Steinmetz Mountain Brook, Alabama
Julia Stewart Birmingham, Alabama
Andrew Stovall Winfield, Alabama
Kat Thaggard Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Carmen Thapar Edgewood, Kentucky
Whatley Thompson Mountain Brook, Alabama
Maggie Tubbs Muscle Shoals, Alabama
Chandler Turnipseed Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Kana Webb Lake Charles, Louisiana
Jordan Wooten Macon, Georgia



The University of Alabama, part of The University of Alabama System, is the state’s flagship university. UA shapes a better world through its teaching, research and service. With a global reputation for excellence, UA provides an inclusive, forward-thinking environment and nearly 200 degree programs on a beautiful, student-centered campus. A leader in cutting-edge research, UA advances discovery, creative inquiry and knowledge through more than 30 research centers. As the state’s largest higher education institution, UA drives economic growth in Alabama and beyond.