a female scientist looks into a microscope

UA to Celebrate Excellence Among Faculty Research, Creative Activity

A graphic with text that reads "Faculty Research Day."Members of The University of Alabama faculty will be honored for their research, scholarship and creative contributions at the upcoming Faculty Research Day.

As part of the celebration, faculty members recognized with the President’s Faculty Research Award from 2020, 2021 and this year will be honored during a ceremony at 4:30 p.m., Wednesday, April 20, in the Bryant Conference Center.

Sponsored by the offices of the President and Vice President for Research and Economic Development, the awards go to outstanding faculty researchers from across UA’s colleges and schools.

Faculty Research Day highlights and celebrates excellence in research, creativity and scholarship by honoring faculty from across campus. It is also intended to increase awareness and generate enthusiasm for scholarship among faculty as the University advances its research enterprise and its impact.

“The University of Alabama’s success in increased productivity and innovation in research, scholarship and creative activities comes from faculty members who dedicate their time to better society through deeper understanding of our world and the human condition,” said Dr. Russell J. Mumper, UA vice president for Research and Economic Development. “It’s important to pause and honor their contributions.”

The 2020 and 2021 ceremonies were canceled, requiring virtual poster presentations and online recognition of faculty members receiving those awards. At this year’s event, each will be recognized.

The 2022 recipients come from each of three areas: arts and humanities; physical and biological sciences, mathematics and engineering; and social and behavioral sciences. In each group, nominations are solicited for a senior, mid-career and emerging scholar to be honored.

The 2022 President’s Faculty Research Award Recipients

Emerging Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Luke William Hunt – philosophy

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Tibor Szilvási – chemical and biological engineering

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Jennifer Cox – psychology

Mid-Career Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Kenon A. Brown – advertising and public relations

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Jason Bara – chemical and biological engineering

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Hyunjin Noh – social work

Senior Scholars

Arts and Humanities

  • Eric Weisbard – American studies

Physical and Biological Sciences, Mathematics and Engineering

  • Andreas Piepke – physics and astronomy

Social and Behavioral Sciences

  • Hee Yun Lee – social work


Adam Jones, UA communications, 205-348-4328, adam.jones@ua.edu