Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers Honored with Annual Award

  • April 29th, 2022

This month 26 students from a wide spectrum of departments were honored as leaders among undergraduate researchers at the Capstone through the Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award Program. 

the Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research awards recipients stand as a group in front of the Bryant museum
The 2022 Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award recipients with President Stuart R. Bell, Dr. Cathy Randall, Honors College Dean Dr. Tara Williams, Vice President for Research and Economic Development Dr. Russell Mumper and Dr. Jeff Gray, Randall Research Scholars Director.

The honorees have all conducted significant scholarly research and were nominated by faculty and staff research directors. A distinguished panel of UA research faculty and past recipients of the Burnum Distinguished Faculty Award selected the winners, who were honored at a luncheon. 

Abigail Foes received the H. Pettus Randall Jr. Endowed Scholarship for her senior year. The scholarship is awarded to the highest vote recipient who is a junior in the Randall Research Scholars Program. 

The Randall Outstanding Undergraduate Research Award Program was created in 1997 by the Randall Publishing Co. and the H. Pettus Randall III family in memory of Henry Pettus Randall Jr., a distinguished UA alumnus and creator of Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges. 

2022 Winners 

Hannah Berry, Shreveport, Louisiana, Biology 

Claire Brewer, Westlake, Ohio, Chemistry 

Mat Cieśla, Northport, Alabama, Psycholinguistics 

Maici Craig, Carl Junction, Missouri, Biology 

Abigail Foes, Loves Park, Illinois, Chemistry and Mathematics 

Jacob Glidewell, Trussville, Alabama, Mathematics 

Caroline Goodman, Corning, Arkansas, Biology 

Ethan Hurst, Piperton, Tennessee, Mathematics 

Taylor Kelley, Northport, Alabama, Biology 

Brian Kent, Marietta, Georgia, Chemistry/Physics 

Meredith Kent, Brandon, Mississippi, English 

Candice Keogh, Tuscaloosa, Alabama, Integrative Biomedical Neuroscience 

Brian Kmiecik, St Charles, Illinois , Biology 

Alexander Lindenfelser, Normal, Illinois, Political Science 

Julia Mamana, Burtonsville, Maryland, Biology 

Luke McKay, Canyon, Texas, Biology 

Emmily Mobley, Mount Holly, North Carolina, Anthropology 

Alecsander Mshar, Crown Point, Indiana, Electrical Engineering 

Faith, Oldham, Bentonville, Arkansas, History, Biology 

Kylie Peter, Quincy, Illinois, Biology and Spanish 

Jean Ryu, Mercer Island, Washington, Biology, Anthropology 

Alexandra Sabrio, New Orleans, Louisiana, Mathematics 

Nick Scudder, San Diego, California, Chemical Engineering 

Anna Stevenson, Tall Timbers, Maryland, Mechanical Engineering 

Grace Thompson, Mobile, Alabama, Chemical & Biological Engineering 

Savannah Walker, Madison, Alabama, Chemistry 

The University of Alabama, part of The University of Alabama System, is the state’s flagship university. UA shapes a better world through its teaching, research and service. With a global reputation for excellence, UA provides an inclusive, forward-thinking environment and nearly 200 degree programs on a beautiful, student-centered campus. A leader in cutting-edge research, UA advances discovery, creative inquiry and knowledge through more than 30 research centers. As the state’s largest higher education institution, UA drives economic growth in Alabama and beyond.