UA President Announces Advisory Committee to Support Campus Diversity Goals

  • October 8th, 2019

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — University of Alabama President Stuart R. Bell has established a presidential advisory committee to support ongoing coordination and expansion of efforts related to diversity, equity and inclusion at The University of Alabama.

The committee will further advance specific plans and strategies, and propose solutions with measurable objectives, to accomplish the third goal of UA’s strategic plan. The third goal aims to enrich the campus learning and work environments by providing an accepting, inclusive community that attracts and supports a diverse faculty, staff and student body.

“Our goal has taken on added personal meaning for me as I have listened to the concerns and ideas addressed by a number of groups across campus in recent weeks,” said Bell. “A clear question has been woven throughout my discussions with individuals and organizations: how can we can do a better job of building a sustainable campus community that meets our expectations and honors our shared values?

“I appreciate the candor expressed by everyone and the willingness and desire to work together. We all have the best interest of our campus community at heart. I expect this committee to reflect that commitment.”

The committee is made up of faculty, staff and students from across campus, including: Harrison Adams, Student Government Association president; Ben Bickerstaff, Professional Staff Assembly president; Dr. André Denham, Black Faculty and Staff Association president; Dr. Rona Donahoe, Faculty Senate president; Matt Fajack, vice president for Finance and Operations; Demarcus Joiner, SGA vice president for diversity, equity and inclusion; Dr. Stacy Jones, associate dean of students; Layne Lightfoot, Honors College student representative; LeNá McDonald, project coordinator in the President’s Office; Angel Narvaez-Lugo, president of the Office, Clerical & Technical Staff Assembly; Dr. Christine Taylor, vice president for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion and committee chair; Chad Tindol, chief administrative officer; and Dr. Kevin Whitaker, executive vice president and provost.

The committee will begin meeting this month. A website will provide regular updates to the campus community about the committee’s efforts, activities and accomplishments.

“We have made progress on this campus in many ways, but we still have much we can and must do,” Bell said. “I look forward to the work of this committee and to the impact it will make on the future of this great University.”


Chris Bryant, UA communications, 205-348-8323,

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.