UA’s First Faculty Research Day Set for April 8

  • March 23rd, 2015

Faculty Research Day LogoTUSCALOOSA, Ala. — Thirteen faculty members representing a cross section of campus will be presented with the President’s Faculty Research Award Wednesday, April 8, as part of The University of Alabama’s first Faculty Research Day.

The event, which is open to all UA faculty, will be held in the Bryant Conference Center’s Sellers Auditorium, from 4 p.m. until 5:45 p.m., with a reception following.

“This event is being created to celebrate and showcase the excellent and diverse scholarship being conducted by faculty across our campus,” said Dr. Carl A. Pinkert, UA vice president for research and economic development. “We hope you will join us as we take this opportunity to recognize all research endeavors and creative scholarship on our campus and celebrate all University of Alabama researchers.”

Dr. Denise Barnes, section head for the National Science Foundation’s Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research, known as EPSCoR, is slated to give keynote remarks.

Award winners, selected by their individual colleges, will be profiled at the event that is sponsored by UA’s Office of the Vice President for Research and Economic Development and organized by UA’s faculty-led Research Advisory Committee.

Selected for the President’s Faculty Research Award are:  Dr. Kimberly Bissell, professor, journalism; Dr. Caroline Boxmeyer, associate professor, psychiatry and behavioral medicine; Dr. Jason DeCaro, associate professor, anthropology;  Dr. Jonathon Halbesleben, associate professor, management; Dr. Samantha Hansen,  assistant professor, geological sciences; Julie A. Hill, associate professor, law; Dr. Yasmin Neggers, professor, human nutrition; Dr. Edward Sazonov, associate professor, electrical and computer engineering; Dr. Vincent Scalfani, science and engineering librarian; Dr. Marietta Stanton, professor, nursing; Dr. Rachel Stephens, assistant professor, art; Dr. Amy Traylor, assistant professor, social work; and Dr. John Vincent, professor, sport management.

More information is available at


Chris Bryant, UA media relations, 205/348-8323,

The University of Alabama, the state’s oldest and largest public institution of higher education, is a student-centered research university that draws the best and brightest to an academic community committed to providing a premier undergraduate and graduate education. UA is dedicated to achieving excellence in scholarship, collaboration and intellectual engagement; providing public outreach and service to the state of Alabama and the nation; and nurturing a campus environment that fosters collegiality, respect and inclusivity.