UA’s Rable Wins 2014 SEC Faculty Achievement Award

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — The Southeastern Conference announced Wednesday that The University of Alabama’s Dr. George C. Rable won the 2014 Faculty Achievement Award.

Rable, a UA history professor and the Charles G. Summersell Chair in Southern History, said he was happy to be one of only 14 professors across the SEC to be chosen for the award.

Dr. George C. Rable
Dr. George C. Rable

“I am deeply honored to have been chosen for this SEC Faculty Achievement Award,” Rable said. “I am also humbled to realize how much students and colleagues have contributed to anything I might have achieved in academic life. It has been a great blessing to work at a job that I dearly love.”

SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners receive a $5,000 honorarium from the Southeastern Conference and become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year, to be named later this month, receives an additional $15,000 honorarium and will be recognized at the SEC Spring Meetings in May and the SEC Symposium in September.

“These 14 professors positively represent the breadth and depth of education in the Southeastern Conference, and I want to congratulate each of them,” said Mike Slive, SEC commissioner. “The commitment to their students, universities and communities is truly commendable.”

Selected by a committee of SEC provosts, the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are part of SECU, the academic initiative of the Southeastern Conference, which sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its 14 member universities.

Below is a list of the 2014 SEC Faculty Achievement Award recipients.

University of Alabama, Dr. George Rable, the Charles Summersell Chair of Southern History

University of Arkansas, Dr. Carol Reeves, the Cecil and Gwendolyn Cupp Applied Professorship in Entrepreneurship

Auburn University, Dr. Geoffrey Hill, professor and curator of birds, department of biological sciences

University of Florida, Dr. Peter Hirschfeld, professor of physics

University of Georgia, Dr. Gregory Robinson, foundation distinguished professor of chemistry

University of Kentucky, Dr. Jayakrishna Ambati, professor and vice chair of ophthalmology and visual sciences

Louisiana State University, Dr. Mark Batzer, the Dr. Mary Lou Applewhite Distinguished Professor

University of Mississippi, Dr. John Hall, the Arthur C. Guyton Professor and chair of physiology and biophysics

Mississippi State University, Dr. Hossein Toghiani, the Thomas B. Nusz Endowed Professor of Chemical Engineering

University of Missouri, Dr. Judy Wall, curator’s professor in biochemistry

University of South Carolina, Dr. Kenneth Reifsnider, university professor of mechanical engineering

University of Tennessee, Dr. Daniel Simberloff, the Nancy Gore Hunger Professor of Environmental Studies

Texas A&M University, Dr. Stephen McDaniel, professor of marketing

Vanderbilt University, Dr. Sandra Rosenthal, the Jack and Pamela Egan Professor of Chemistry

UA’s history department is part of the College of Arts and Sciences, the University’s largest division and the largest liberal arts college in the state. Students from the College have won numerous national awards including Rhodes Scholarships, Goldwater Scholarships, Truman Scholarships and memberships on the USA Today Academic All American Team.


Bobby Mathews, UA media relations,, 205/348-4956


George C. Rable, 205/348-1808