Dothan Area Residents Among UA Graduates

  • May 9th, 2005

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. – The University of Alabama awarded some 2,400 degrees at joint May-August commencement ceremonies held May 6-7 in Bryant-Denny Stadium.

Sela Ward, award winning actress and UA alumna, was the featured speaker. Ward, best-known for her television roles as Lily Sammler on “Once and Again” and Teddy Reed on “Sisters,” is a 1977 graduate of the UA College of Communication and Information Sciences.

Bryan Stevenson, executive director of the Equal Justice Initiative in Montgomery, gave the commencement address for the UA Law School.

With this graduating class, UA has awarded more than 193,000 degrees since its founding in 1831 as the state’s first public university.

The following students from the Dothan area were listed as candidates to receive degrees:


ANDALUSIA-Erin Leslie O’Kane


ANDALUSIA-Kristen Renee Messick

DOTHAN-Kenneth Scott Farmer, Bethany Brooke Ramsey, Mylesa Myers Weatherford

ENTERPRISE-Ben Samuel Godwin

EUFAULA-Catherine Elizabeth Bedsole, Sandra Caprice Fowler

FLORALA-Kristin Andrea Donaldson

NEWTON-Leslie Cloye Scarbrough


ABBEVILLE-John Chandler Lindsey

ANDALUSIA-Jessica Brooke Kelley

ASHFORD-Jeremy M. Vinson

CLAYTON-Allison Denise Cordell, Brady F. Jackson

COLUMBIA-Laura Agnes Summerlin

COWARTS-Dustin Chad Whaley

DALEVILLE-Bruce Laymon Blair

DOTHAN-Charles Joseph Alford, Alyson Lane Bennett, John Anthony Brown, Jeremy Ladon Buckley, Darcy Lee Bullard, Jordan Marshall Cook, Phillip Jordan Dean, William Albert Deloach, Brandon W. Evans, Abby C. Fields, Anna M. Fields, Bradford Page Hester, Richard Berney Ledyard Jr., Katherine Elizabeth Lester, Melinda Danielle Page, Tonyetta Pruitt, Daniel Jared Stokes, Lacey Nicole Valeska

ENTERPRISE-Chasity Marie Bell, Ben Avery Henson, Aaron Lee Jones, Jason Dean Miles, Laura Elaine Pangallo, Brett Lawson Simmons, Sharon Marie Wasden

EUFALUA-Sunnie Leigh Corcoran, Sarah Christie Edwards, Anwar Javah Smith

FORT RUCKER-Harold Dale Robinson III

GENEVA-Karol L. Fleming, Jared Brian Galloway, Rafael Devon Tyrues

GORDON-Matthew Golson Kiser

HARTFORD-Phillip Jefferson Hamm, Melanie Michelle Simmons

HEADLAND-Hannah Melinda Jones

NEWVILLE-Mary Allison Taylor

OPP-Laura Lee Bundrick, Allen Steakley Burgess

OZARK-Roy L Fuqua III, Ray Harvey McLaughlin Jr.,

TROY-Holly Lynn Graham, Meredith L. Griffin, Lydia Ruth Yancey

WEBB-Allyson Devry Gordie

WING-Joshua E. Elliott


Linda Hill, UA Media Relations, 205/348-8325,

The University of Alabama, part of The University of Alabama System, is the state’s flagship university. UA shapes a better world through its teaching, research and service. With a global reputation for excellence, UA provides an inclusive, forward-thinking environment and nearly 200 degree programs on a beautiful, student-centered campus. A leader in cutting-edge research, UA advances discovery, creative inquiry and knowledge through more than 30 research centers. As the state’s largest higher education institution, UA drives economic growth in Alabama and beyond.