UA Honorary Celebrates 70th Anniversary

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. — The University of Alabama chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta honorary recently celebrated the 70th anniversary of its founding.

Alpha Lambda Delta is a national honor society that recognizes academic excellence among first-year students. It was founded at the University of Illinois in 1924. Today Alpha Lambda Delta has over 220 chapters throughout the nation. More than 575,000 students have been initiated into membership.

Membership in Alpha Lambda Delta is open to full-time freshmen students who earn a scholastic average of 3.5 or better. Once initiated, an individual holds a lifetime membership.

The UA chapter of Alpha Lambda Delta has 327 members.

The 1999-2000 officers are:

Cammie Willis of Gadsden, president

Suzanne Freshwater of Albertville, vice president

Mitchell Greggs of Tuscaloosa, secretary

Gus McMurray of Tuscaloosa, treasurer

Abbe Crutchfield of Marietta, Ga., historian

Abbie Hayle of Hattiesburg, Miss., editor

Joey Thompson of Tuscaloosa, induction chair

Karen Ellis of Albertville, scholarship chair

Jamie Moser of Brandon, Miss., member-at-large

Christa Crow of Hoover, CCHS representative

Beverly Kellen, assistant director of the UA Russell Student Health Center, serves as administrative adviser for Alpha Lambda Delta.


Amelia Parker or Linda Hill, Office of Media Relation, 205/348-8325