UA Students Elect Third Female SGA President in History

TUSCALOOSA, Ala. ‚ Emily McMurphy of Mobile was elected president of The University of Alabama Student Government Association (SGA) for 2000-01, making her only the third female in UA history to hold the Capstone’s top student-elected office.

The 4,992 votes, or 25 percent of the student population, is the second largest turnout for an SGA election in UA history. The record was set last year with 5,257 students or 30 percent of the student population.

McMurphy, with 58 percent of the vote, defeated Tracie Ransom of Olathe, Kansas.

Other executive officers elected were:

Executive Vice-President- James G. Chambers of Huntsville.

Executive Secretary- Adam Colvin of Rainbow City.

Vice-President for Academic Affairs- Bradley Jason McGiboney of Maylene, who ran unopposed.

Vice-President for External Affairs- Rebecca Brand of Trussville, who ran unopposed.

Vice-President for Financial Affairs- David Hartley Richardson of Tuscaloosa.

Vice-President for Student Affairs- Jonathan Macklem of Mobile.

SGA Senate: The following students have been officially certified as winning senate posts. Other senate positions will be announced as they are confirmed.

Arts and Sciences: Mario J. Bailey of Lanette, Katherine Baker of Mobile, Jabare J. Bell of Birmingham, Anne Martha Bernauer of Florence, Marcel Burney of Florence, Stephanie Cory of Slidell, La., Jim Hurt, Quinton Matthews of Andalusia, Lee Ann Christine McAliley of Enterprise, Elizabeth Milner of Baton Rouge, La., Ross Morgan of Birmingham, Theresa Rumore of Birmingham, Michael Salloway of Sylacauga, William H. Ward Jr. of Mobile and Julie Ann Yates of Florence.

Capstone College of Nursing: Jessica Faye Najjar of Snellville, Ga.

College of Communication: Jeremy Christopher Adler of Birmingham, Jessica Jane Brooks of Birmingham, Katherine Marie Tidwell of Selma, and Jennifer Brooke West of Chattanooga, Tenn.

College of Education: Kevin Felder of Birmingham, and Jed Russell Smart of Tuscaloosa.

College of Engineering: Chad Hunter Kendrick of Jasper, Richard Marshall of New Orleans, La., James Louis Perrien Jr. of Mobile and Raman Sehgal of Montgomery.

College of Human Environmental Sciences: Nancy R. Collier of Cartersville, Jordan Daly of Duluth, Ga. and Margaret Walsh Lott of Mobile.

Culverhouse College of Commerce and Business Administration: Javan Shinar Bass of Montgomery, Jessica Carmichael of Oakman, Lorraine Janie Erhunmwunsee of Montgomery, Tenley Garvich of Signal Mountain, Tenn., Bryan Scott Gregory of Mobile, Jeremiah M. Hodges of Owen Cross Road, John Lawrence of Talladega, Brad Schoenberger of Germantown, Tenn., Les Waites III of Homewood and Michael Yates of Helena.

Graduate School: William J. Jones of Tuscaloosa, Daniel Matthew Lyles of Trussville, Anil Mujumdar of Tuscaloosa and Jonathan Brett Smith of Tuscaloosa.

School of Law: Amy Mendheim of Dothan and Sean Christopher Pierce of Huntsville.


Suzanne Dowling, 205/348-8324